Life Drawing - Portraits

Post illustrations, animation, graphic design, sketches, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
JoshuaTheJames
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 2:10 pm
Location: CA, USA
Contact:

Life Drawing - Portraits

Post by JoshuaTheJames » Fri Sep 10, 2004 7:46 pm

Hey guys here are some life studies...

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

-Joshua James

User avatar
peng8noodles
Posts: 909
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 4:38 pm
Location: oakland
Contact:

Post by peng8noodles » Fri Sep 10, 2004 8:01 pm

nice joshua! i love the shading on all of these. i particularly like the first one, and the second to last old man schnozz is rockin'.

Alex Deligiannis
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Crush County, CA
Contact:

Post by Alex Deligiannis » Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:43 pm

I love your rendering technique.

User avatar
dan
Posts: 1350
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2003 7:31 am
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Post by dan » Sat Sep 11, 2004 9:45 am

beautiful stuff, josh. However, i would put in some darker tones in just to make the features pop more. The first there do it, but i noticed that they tend to be more monotone towards the end.

dan
Image

User avatar
secretid
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 3:53 pm
Location: rrrhode island

Post by secretid » Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:31 am

Just gorgeous.

User avatar
househatke
Posts: 1213
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 10:37 pm
Location: VA
Contact:

Post by househatke » Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:43 am

All beautiful!

User avatar
Dek
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 7:07 pm
Location: Torontonia

Post by Dek » Tue Sep 14, 2004 4:35 pm

Chiaroscuro, anyone? That is some very smooth work, especially with your hiding of lines - the shading is definately excellent.

User avatar
Mikie
Posts: 1142
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 9:46 am
Location: San Diego, ca

Post by Mikie » Tue Sep 14, 2004 7:05 pm

:shock:

User avatar
bigg
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 11:37 am
Location: nyc
Contact:

Post by bigg » Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:45 pm

very cool work. i like.
BigG
"I twist a blitz so quick it turns to roach clips/ New nicks get picked/ oh SHIT i need another hit/ I sip Sipps while two full clips spit hollow tips/ As I raise the guns up off my hips/ Now who you fukin with?"
http://www.wesleygunn.com

User avatar
bannister
Posts: 1360
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by bannister » Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:50 pm

Wonderful Josh, very elegant and sophisticated ! :)

User avatar
incognito
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:55 pm

Post by incognito » Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:22 pm

Wow.



Amazing.
And awesome.



Though I think that on the 4th portrait, you could do with more contrast.

User avatar
kiolia
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by kiolia » Thu Sep 16, 2004 2:30 pm

beauty! I love how varied the subjects are.

User avatar
em...
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 7:00 am
Location: Scotland

Post by em... » Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:26 am

Very nice work

User avatar
Michael Firman
Posts: 277
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 9:45 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Michael Firman » Wed Sep 22, 2004 3:36 pm

Pure sexiness, Josh. What's the average amount of time you put into one of these portraits?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests