Recommendations For a Newbie?

Recommend books, comics, graphic novels, etc.
Mak91

Recommendations For a Newbie?

Post by Mak91 » Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:28 am

I am fairly new to the world of graphic novels. I was introdiced to the medium about a year ago, and the number of graphic novels I have read since then is unimpressive (Blankets by Craig Thompson, Flight 1, plus some on-line stuff) . However, I want to try and broaden my experience.
The letdown is that I live in a country where comics, even ones which are mainstream in the USA and Western Europe, aren't really sold anywhere. That's why I'm looking for graphic novels that you can preferrably either download or read on-line (I know, that's a lot to ask for). Additionally, I do not like superhero stories and am not looking for manga (manhwa, manhua and manhoa too).
Do you have any suggestions as to what I could read?

Joey

Post by Joey » Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:20 am

Hmm...well, first I'll stick in a little self-promotion and point out that you can read my first graphic novel, The Ride Home, entirely online here.

Then, let's see...Smile is a great graphic novel in progress. At the moment it's in the middle of a bunch of guest strips, but you can click back to go to the beginning and read from there.

I also reccomend checking out the Secret Friend Society, which contains Hope Larson's entire Salamander Dream graphic novel, and the first big chunk of Kean Soo's graphic novel series, Jellaby.

And Derik Kirk Kimalso has a handful of comics online, including, I believe, all of his first graphic novel, Same Difference.

Those are the first couple that I can think of off the top of my head. Enjoy!
Visit the Tragic Planet!

GopherZ

Post by GopherZ » Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:51 pm

I am also a 'newbie', so I am not sure whether my advice will be appreciated...