Bolt

Discuss films.
agent44

Bolt

Post by agent44 » Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:04 pm

I just saw Bolt and was pleasantly surprised. If the aim of movies is to elicit emotion, Bolt shoots to kill. I really enjoyed it. And I've been getting flack for this, but I liked it more than Wall-e.

Also, I saw it in 3-d with the glasses and it's cool, but it detracted from the experience some what. It's my first time seeing a 3-d movie and I kept thinking about the 3-d instead of being totally immersed in the film. I'm not sure I'm a fan of it just yet. But from the looks of next summer's line up I'm going to have plenty of chances for it to win me over.

jcaffoe

Post by jcaffoe » Fri Nov 21, 2008 6:45 pm

Yeah, 3D has always seemed really gimmicky to me in that there's no way it could ever serve the story. It makes the theater experience feel like a theme-park ride.

I saw Beowulf in 3d and it was one (of many) reasons I didn't really care for that film...

At any rate, I'll have to give Bolt a shot. Is this Disney's first film with Pixar backing them again?

Josh Mauser

Post by Josh Mauser » Sat Nov 22, 2008 1:17 am

Frankly from an animation standpoint I think Bolt looks pretty nice, actually! Like the look of the characters too, I hope I get around to see it as well.

Maybe if they did something with those glasses to make them fit better on your face as opposed to feeling like the giant ones I had when I was seven, the immersion would be better. I honestly think the physicality is part of the detraction, although there's really no way to get around that. (But 3D contact lenses, there's a REAL recipe for disaster).

I hope it works out by the time Coraline comes out. So pumped for that one.

dark77778

Post by dark77778 » Sat Nov 22, 2008 9:53 am

jcaffoe wrote:Yeah, 3D has always seemed really gimmicky to me in that there's no way it could ever serve the story. It makes the theater experience feel like a theme-park ride.