Mother

Post comics.
Sheng

Mother

Post by Sheng » Mon May 24, 2004 9:44 pm

Hey everyone, I'm an aspiring comic writer, and would appreciate any opinions/suggestions about a script I've written. It's titled "Mother", and it's the first part of a collection of short stories I've put together called "Love in the Time of Acne".

Thanks, Sheng

"Mother"

<> brackets denote an English translation of Mandarin

On a large Sony TV, a Chinese speaking news anchor reports the news. Sean and his mother sit at the dinner table, in silence. On the table are three porcelain plates featuring mostly consumed roasted duck, fried tofu drenched in green onions and soy sauce, steamed cauliflower, and a steaming porcelain soup bowl of miso soup. In front of Sean and his mother are steaming plastic bowls of miso soup. Sean looks down at his bowl as he sips; his mother is watching the TV, which is in the same room. Sean is twenty-two, Chinese, with spiky hair, and is 5’7”, 150 lbs. He has sensitive eyes, fat lips, and small acne clusters dot his chin and cheeks. He wears a black linen shirt, matching slacks, and black Dockers shoes. Sean’s mother is fifty-seven. Her hair is permed, mostly black with strands of silver, and she squints despite her thick and heavy glasses. She is slightly but perceptibly overweight, and wears sweats. Sean and her have the same bulbous nose. She continues to watch TV; Sean looks at his soup bowl while he drinks. Sean’s mother turns to Sean, and gently, as if not to interrupt him, speaks.

CAPTION
December 2003. Temple City, CA.

SEAN’S MOTHER
<Do you like the soup?>

Sean looks up, and politely replies.

SEAN
It’s good. Really good.

Sean’s mother turns, and focuses on the TV; simultaneously, Sean looks down at his bowl. The silence continues.

Later. Sean is sitting in a dark room, staring intently. Sean’s short hair is unkempt, and he wears a faded black tee, gray sweats, and sandals.

SEAN (caption)