The Contender

Post comics.
Dan Santat

The Contender

Post by Dan Santat » Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:11 am

I've always read this section of the forum but never contributed. I've never shared any of my comic stuff to anyone till now which is funny because I'm actually doing a graphic novel for Scholastic and I've never done one before. In any case, this is a short story that I was trying to do as a webcomic for my site which I've had to put on the back burner because of a huge pile of deadlines I have for other projects. Anyway, I'd love to hear anyone's thoughts on it.

Dan is my name. Art is what I do.

Seth Wolfshorndl

Post by Seth Wolfshorndl » Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:47 pm

Sweet. Is there more?

I love the shots of the hands and how you render things. The aged paper is a nice touch, too.

-Seth
Image Image

dark77778

Post by dark77778 » Fri Apr 25, 2008 3:21 am

Woah, I'm very much intrigued. Not much I can say here except for the fact that it's vague, but it's a preview duh. :) Papa Gabriel looks like he'd be named Geppetto.
I'm my own breed of eccentric.

lhrybyk

Post by lhrybyk » Fri Apr 25, 2008 5:23 am

Definitely pretty great. Love the first page layout. Your style has rumblings of John Romita Jr. who I grew up loving, so I'm an instant fan of yours.

Dan Santat

Post by Dan Santat » Fri Apr 25, 2008 8:13 am

Thanks, thanks and thanks! Seth, I have the whole story outlined but it's just a matter of getting it drawn. Since I have 4 different projects going on right now it's hard for me to find time on this little side project of mine

Kazu
Site Admin

Post by Kazu » Fri Apr 25, 2008 11:48 am

This reads great, Dan. I'd love to see more as well.

JakeKalsbeek

Post by JakeKalsbeek » Fri Apr 25, 2008 6:10 pm

I like it. I like how you start out from the father's perspective. It really draws you into the story.

willmj

Post by willmj » Thu May 08, 2008 1:23 am