best places to live if you're a cartoonist?

General Discussion
tinyforest

best places to live if you're a cartoonist?

Post by tinyforest » Thu May 12, 2005 2:04 pm

hello, this is my first post. my name is holly and i'm a soon-to-be SCAD graduate. i'm a little bummed that in a few weeks i am going to be leaving savannah and the pretty awesome community of cartoonists from my classes to go back to middle-of-nowhere illinois until my boyfriend is ready to whisk me away to the suburbs of detroit.

i was just wondering where anybody here thinks is the best (or at least a really good) place to live if you're a cartoonist. does location have any bearing on work opportunities these days, what with overnight shipping and the internet? are there any particular cities with a fun and happenin' comics community where creators get together to inspire and motivate each other?
comics and adorable animals. tiny forest

Ryansias

Post by Ryansias » Thu May 12, 2005 2:43 pm

go got 2 choices... NY or LA.. both are great , both have comic scenes.. LA has more "animation".. any place elce just is going to be less..

Ryan

goRaina

Post by goRaina » Thu May 12, 2005 2:46 pm

yeah, a lot of cartooning action in new york city! there's tons and tons of us here. :D

many cities have comics communities...san francisco, seattle, portland oregon, columbus, st. louis...

Joseph Park

Post by Joseph Park » Thu May 12, 2005 2:57 pm

Move up to Seattle. We have Starbucks.

i.am.jamie

Post by i.am.jamie » Thu May 12, 2005 4:33 pm

hi holly!! come live with me and katie in LA!!! we can have tea parties and bake cookies!

PS LA is great but i also hear SF is wonderful too.

Joey

Post by Joey » Thu May 12, 2005 4:54 pm

Hey Holly! Don't really have an answer for you, but I'm glad to see you over here at Flight! See ya in class on Tuesday :D
Visit the Tragic Planet!

Kid Galactus

Post by Kid Galactus » Thu May 12, 2005 7:47 pm

Holly,

Don't come here! it's a trap!