John Coltrane Animated

General Discussion
Post Reply
User avatar
bannister
Posts: 1360
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

John Coltrane Animated

Post by bannister » Sat Mar 05, 2005 9:34 am

If you like jazz, go THERE for a nice animation clip.

User avatar
Ganter
Posts: 1508
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:40 pm
Location: Alhambra, CA
Contact:

Post by Ganter » Sat Mar 05, 2005 9:37 am

that was fun~ I especially enjoyed the end. 8)

User avatar
Joey
Posts: 1036
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:12 pm
Contact:

Post by Joey » Sat Mar 05, 2005 9:49 am

That was nifty!

Red block of destruction! Oh no!!

Coltraine's the man.
Visit the Tragic Planet!
Image

Image

User avatar
weatherwise
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:43 pm
Location: Burnaby, BC
Contact:

Post by weatherwise » Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:04 am

That was neat.

Has anyone seen Begone Dull Care by Norman Maclaren? He does a similar kind of thing in that, in terms of, I guess, expressionistically animating to a jazz soundtrack (in his case, Oscar Peterson). It's pretty awesome.
borealism.com: highbrow pretension by the assload

Ant!
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:40 pm
Contact:

Post by Ant! » Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:12 am

I watched that about 3 times.
About to make it four
Damn, I love Giant Steps.

Liz
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Philly

Post by Liz » Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:40 pm

WOW!

Patachu
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2003 11:38 am
Location: Dorkémon Academy
Contact:

Post by Patachu » Sat Mar 05, 2005 8:30 pm

Hey, where's the rest of the song?! :P

That was seriously awesome though. Now, if someone could do a Fantasia-like project set to jazz ...

User avatar
B Moore
Posts: 438
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 7:06 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Post by B Moore » Sun Mar 06, 2005 2:55 pm

Great stuff! I always thought "Giant Steps" would be a great soundtrack for an animated short (though I imagined giant robots, nothing as elegant as this.)
Brian
ImageImage

User avatar
JonS
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 9:39 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by JonS » Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:57 pm

that's awesome. I just borrowed a john coltrane cd this morning cuz I hadn't heard giant steps in forever....

User avatar
Woody
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 9:47 pm
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Post by Woody » Thu Mar 10, 2005 2:36 am

Man, that was cool. That was super cool. I really like how the animator played on Coltrane's bends and shouts on his saxophone. My only complaint: too short!

User avatar
davidhopkins
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:30 am
Location: Arlington, TX
Contact:

Post by davidhopkins » Fri Mar 11, 2005 9:56 am

Wasn't too impressed at first. But it became very cool, very quickly and I was hooked. 8)
:: antihero ::

User avatar
nil
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2004 4:21 pm
Location: UK

Post by nil » Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:32 am

weatherwise wrote:Has anyone seen Begone Dull Care by Norman Maclaren?
Yep! The first thing that popped into my head when I started watching this one. :)
a Chris

User avatar
uminthecoil
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:20 pm
Contact:

Post by uminthecoil » Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:49 am

hell yes!...thanks so much!
Andrew

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests