Expensive displays: R they really needed for Illustration?

General Discussion
TheHead

Expensive displays: R they really needed for Illustration?

Post by TheHead » Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:24 am

Hey, Happy new year everyone!

I am looking around for a new display. I use my computer (as most people in here) as a tool for illustration and comics. My stuff, 9 out of 10 times are destined to be printed in offset, and being a freelance illustrator, my work is rarely printed at the same printer, which means that getting involved with color profiles to achieve correct results with each and everyone of them, is hardly realistic.

All pre-press pro displays (eizo, nec, lacie) are in the scope of 2000$ more or less and semipro
(like Eizo's flexscan for example) are a little over a 1000$.

None of my illustrator friends work on such displays, and they feel ok with their results from the printer. ( cintiq users are amazingly happy although I don't like that thing all that much.)

Bottom line is. I am confused. I really do feel strongly about color accuracy in prints, and I don't mind paying extra for proper hardware, if that means decent results. But there is not a firm belief out there in the real world, that expensive equals best results.

I'd love to hear what's your preference on the matter, or some thoughts on the subject if any.

Scruffy

Re: Expensive displays: R they really needed for Illustration?

Post by Scruffy » Mon Jan 11, 2010 8:17 pm

The short answer is yes. Having a good, color-correct screen can make life a lot more pleasant for creative work.

You can spend a lot less than two grand on a good monitor that can be calibrated. My LaCie 324 was around $900, plus the colorimeter for another couple of hundred. And there are even better deals to be had - I recall some of the NEC screens costing in the $3-500 range getting very high marks from color pros (from my research about a year ago).