Making a Living at this...

General Discussion
JGrubber

Making a Living at this...

Post by JGrubber » Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:11 pm

Strange question, but are many of us here making any sort of a living doing what we love (drawing books/comics etc.)

If not what do you do in your other life?

Me- I am an elementary/middle school teacher- which explains why i want to draw/write history comics...

How about you?

inverce

Post by inverce » Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:32 pm

until recently i worked in a comic shop (for about 7 years). unfortunately, i was just comfortable enough to not have the real drive i needed to try to make a go with my artwork. After working a miserable stint in a call center i had a real motivator to start sending out submissions and looking into agents!

Azzamckazza

Post by Azzamckazza » Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:42 pm

inverce wrote: After working a miserable stint in a call center i had a real motivator to start sending out submissions and looking into agents!
That'll do it every time. I'm in a call centre now - it's a great motivator for making you think about where you wank to work for the rest of your life
ImageImage

rohwer

Post by rohwer » Thu Aug 07, 2008 7:51 pm

Azzamckazza wrote:
inverce wrote: After working a miserable stint in a call center i had a real motivator to start sending out submissions and looking into agents!
That'll do it every time. I'm in a call centre now - it's a great motivator for making you think about where you wank to work for the rest of your life
I have been a manager in a call center for four years and half of my staff are great artists. What is it about call centers and artists?

thirdeyeh

Post by thirdeyeh » Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:09 am

its because we can draw whilst talking or waiting for the next call. That's what Im doing now! lol. Though I do like my job, I think I get an oppurtunity to make a difference in people's lives. That hasn't stopped from putting pen to paper though.

briantaylor