Another Blue Pencil Question

General Discussion
Karp

Another Blue Pencil Question

Post by Karp » Tue Feb 12, 2008 6:30 pm

I recently started drawing my comics in photo-blue pencil. I was aware that it would scan, but was sure that I would be able to easily eliminate it in Photoshop. I did it with levels (I'm not exactly sure how), but it was not as easy as I thought it would be, and I still had to scrub out blue residue with the eraser. Is there any method more reliable than just messing with different settings until it goes away?

Also, any advice you could give me about making a clean transition from paper to computer would be helpful. It's something I have trouble with.

Thanks.

neil

Post by neil » Wed Feb 13, 2008 12:52 am

Try adjust -> hue (instead of levels), and move the "lightness" slider the whole way up, for just the blues and the cyans. This effectively blasts out all the blue pencil and leaves your ink lines alone. You can even set up an "action" to do all this in one click!

Kazu
Site Admin

Post by Kazu » Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:53 am

This is a good reminder for me to post my Amulet in-depth tutorial soon. Neil is right. Just blow out the lightness to 100 on the blue channel in the hue/saturation adjust and that should do it.

Harry Myland (IV)

Post by Harry Myland (IV) » Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:18 am

Kazu wrote:This is a good reminder for me to post my Amulet in-depth tutorial soon.
That would be swell *nudge, nudge*. I loved your Copper tutorial and am pretty interested to see how it differs from your GN work.
NOMAD TOFU (updates M/W/F... it's about a goofy nomad who causes disaster everywhere he goes.)

Steven

Post by Steven » Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:00 pm

Here's a different method that might be worth a try: